Burnt Toast Stars

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Family Reunion Part 1 July 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — btstars @ 5:54 pm

My dad was adopted when he was a baby.  He never knew his “birth parents” and didn’t have a way to find his birth family.  Well, about 6 months ago he was contacted by a person claiming to be his sister.  After he checked her out and started talking to her, it turns out that she is his sister.  Which is exciting, but it turns out he has a MASSIVE amount of siblings!  Not to mention nieces and nephews and cousins and uncles and aunts!!  This weekend was a family reunion for his “birth family”.  Not everyone could make it, but a lot of people did show up…..including myself.

This family is definitely a little crazy and maybe a little dysfunctional.  They are loud and there were tons of kids there.  I don’t like strangers and I feel uncomfortable being around a bunch of people I don’t know.  I was anticipating a very awkward afternoon.  However, after only an hour, I felt comfortable.  Sure these people are crazy and dysfunctional, but so am I.

I have always felt like the “black sheep” in my family.  I would say I am “extreme” but I am definitely not what one would consider normal.  When I was a freshman in high school, I started having dreams that were coming true.  Still to this day, I will have dreams that come true.  The week before September 11th, I was having dreams of planes crashing into buildings.  Also, I see ghosts and I have run-ins with ghosts.  As you may have read in my last post, my daughter has been talking to my Grandma Mimi, even though Mimi passed away years ago.  When I told this to my three *new* aunts, they weren’t surprised.  They didn’t show shock, they just shrugged it off and said, “Yep, that’s what happens in this family”

Seriously people, I felt like I was going crazy.  I seeing things that weren’t there; I was hearing things that weren’t there; I was dreaming things that ended up coming true.  But, to have someone (a perfectly sane person!) shrug it off as normal, everyday occurrence was relieving.  Knowing I wasn’t alone and it was just….normal….was nice.

Some of you may know that I am Wiccan.  No I don’t eat babies and do animal sacrifices.  It’s just an earth based religion that is very similar to some of the “book religions” that many people practice today.  I started getting into Wicca when I was in high school.  I always felt like something was missing.  I tried Christianity and they couldn’t answer any of my questions.  So, for a while I went to Buddhism and it felt right.  But, I had other ideas about what I believed.  So, I started looking up these ideas on the good ‘ole interwebs.  Through doing these searches, I came across Wicca/Paganism.  Coming from a strict Christian/Catholic background, it was a little alarming at first.  However, it just made sense.  It just seemed to fit.  After a couple years as a practicing Wiccan, I told my parents.  I told my dad first and he just nodded and went about his business.  I was worried he wouldn’t like it. The person I was REALLY afraid of was my mother.  I waited another 6 months to a year before I told my mom.  Needless to say, she cried.  After a while she got used to it…well, she’s still trying to get used to it.  I think it will be fine, though.  I am raising my daughter Wiccan as well.  I think it is the most versatile religion and if she decides to go Christian/Catholic/Mormon/whatever later in life, I will be more than supportive.

I always thought it was strange that Wicca just felt…right.  After meeting my dad’s family, I am no longer surprised.  My Great-Grandmother was Wiccan.  So, it looks like I am at least 2nd generation Wiccan.  I am only sad that I didn’t get a chance to speak to her about Wicca.

It was really nice to talk to my Dad’s biological family.  I was nervous at first, because I still see my Grandma Hutchins as my Grandma.  I still can’t see Mabel (my Dad’s biological mother) as my grandmother.  However, everyone I met this weekend is very nice and it just felt like I fit in.  I was still shy and reserved and tried to just observe, but it just felt right.  Now, my very small family has grown exponentially and it was nice.

 

Leave a Reply

